Tuesday, 24 September 2013

Rather than doing a blog....

Today rather than do a blog, I just felt like doing one of them long survey thingys... I sed to do these all the time on bebo and the like when I was younger, anyhoo this is a long one and ic an see me doing this over a ffew hours and publishing it tonight... but here goes!

Are you ready to answer these questions honestly, even if it starts to get hard?
BRING IT!
How old is the last person you kissed on the lips?
27
Who was the last person to carry you?
MY FIANCE PROBABLY
What color shirt were you wearing when you had your last kiss?
BLUE VEST TOP
Do you know what you want to be when you grow up?
MY FUTURE SISTER IN LAW... BECAUSE SHES SO MATURE AND LOVELY!
What are you currently listening to?
NOTHING ACTUALLY PLAYING, BUT STILL MY SOUL BE STILL BY KEITH GETTY IS IN MY HEAD
Do you wish someone would turn up at your front door right now?
NO, BECAUSE IM AT WORK
Who was the last person you had a face-to-face conversation with?
MY COLLEAGUE
Who are you talking to right now?
NO-ONE
What were you doing at 12AM last night?
WATCHING DAILY BUMPS ON YOU TUBE
What’s in your wallet?
CARDS, RECEIPTS AND A BIT OF CASH
Do you sleep with anything?
2 STUFFED LAMBS AND  STUFFED PUPPY OCCUPY MY BED
Has someone ever called you beautiful?
YEAH
Are you wearing short shorts?
NOPE
Do you miss anyone?
YEAH ALWAYS
What are you drinking?
WATER
Did anything dramatic go down today?
NOTHING AS YET ASIDE FROM I GOT A CALL TO SAY MY ENGAGEMENT RING IS IN THE JEWELLERS AFTER BEING RESIZED
Are you afraid to stay at home all alone?
NOPE, USED TO BE, NOW I LONG FOR BEING HOME ALONE
Does the person you like like you back?
YEP
Do you ignore people when you’re mad/upset with them?
YEH I DO
Did you kiss or hug anyone in the last forty-eight hours?
YEP, MY FELLA :)
Do you plan on sleeping in tomorrow?
NOPE, I WORK
How often do you hold back from saying what you are thinking?
I TRY NOT TO
Do you like to take walks?
SOMETIMES, IF ITS NOT RAINING
What were you doing at 12:30 this afternoon?
ANSWERING WORK EMAILS 
Did you last kiss take place in/on a bed?
NOPE AT FIANCES FRONT DOOR
Have you ever cried ‘cause you were so mad?
YES, I DO THAT ALL THE TIME
What is on your wrists right now?
NOTHING
Did you sleep alone last night?
YES, ASIDE FROM MY CUDDLY TOYS :)
How many hours of sleep did you get last night?
7 (ISH)
Reason for the last tear shed?
I WAS FRUSTRATED
Last person of the opposite sex you gave a hug to?
MY FIANCE
Are you sitting or standing?
SITTING
Are you keeping a secret from anyone?
NOPE
Are you in pain? Why are you in pain?
I'VE A SLIGHT HEADACHE FROM COLD THATS GOING AWAY
Do you crack your knuckles a lot?
NEVER
Do you have clothes that are not yours?
NO
Have you ever been called a babe or baby?
YEP
Does it bother you when girls have a new boyfriend every week?
ITS A BIT WIERD I GUESS BUT WHO AM I TO JUDGE? NOT MY LIFE
Isn’t the value of the word “love” meaningless as time goes by?
IT SHOULDNT BE
How many people like the last person you kissed?
I DUNNO, ID SAY A FAIR FEW
Once a cheater, always a cheater, right?
NOT NECESSARILY
If the last person you kissed saw you kissing someone else right now, do you think they would be mad?
OH YES
Do you act differently around the person you like?
NO
Are there any relationships you wish could have lasted longer?
NO
Has anyone told you they would never leave and left?
NO
Can you read other people’s expressions?
YES PRETTY WELL
Do you give out second chances?
NOT REALLY
Have you ever kissed someone with a tattoo?
NOT SURE
Are you sick or becoming sick?
TAIL END OF A COLD JUST AND IMMINENT PMS
Is the taste of beer good to you?
ONLY WHEN MIXED WITH LEMONADE
Do you think extensions look fake?
THEY CAN DO
Is love worth fighting for?
TO A CERTAIN EXTENT, YOU CAN'T BE THE ONLY ONE FIGHTING ALL THE TIME
Are you high?
LOL NO
If someone cheated on you, what would you do?
TAKE IT EXTREMELY PERSONALLY, CRY, BE MAD
Do you think that your name defines who you are?
NO
Has anyone ever told you that they like you as more than a friend?
YES
What would you do if the person you kissed before the last person you kissed broke down and told you they loved you?
THAT TIMES WAY PAST AND I DON'T WANT THEM IN MY LIFE
Would you be able to name everyone you kissed in 2012?
YES
Who’s the one person who can always calm you down?
MY FINANCE
Name one person you wish you could fix things with?
LISA PROBABLY
How was today?
SO FAR ITS OK
Who was your last text from?
FIANCE
What are you excited for?
GETTING MY RING BACK TOMORROW
Do you ever get “good morning” texts from anyone?
YEP MY BETTER HALF
When did you last straighten your hair?
SUNDAY
Do you know anyone who should not wear tight clothes?
LOL YEAH
If you woke up next to the last person you texted, what would your reaction be?
YAY
Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder?
HAPPIER
Did the person who hurt you the most recently apologize?
YEP
Is your life falling apart or coming together?
BIT OF BOTH
Could things possibly get any better?
ALWAYS
Today, would you rather go forward a week or back a week?
FORWARD
Are you the type of person who likes to be out, or at home?
HOME, AS LONG AS I'M WITH MY FIANCE
Think back to the last person you kissed; how many times have you laughed together?
SO MANY TIMES
Is there a girl that knows everything about you?
HMMM DUNNO
Could you go a day without eating?
NO WAY
When was the last time you wanted to punch someone in their face?
OH PROBABLY A FEW DAYS AGO
If you could have one thing right now what would it be?
A HOUSE
If you’re single, then why don’t you get a girlfriend/boyfriend?
NOT SINGLE
Describe how you feel right now in one word?
HUNGRY
Would it be hard to kiss the person you currently like/love?
NOPE
Who was the last person to comfort you as you cried?
MY FIANCE
Do you miss the way things used to be between you and someone else?
NOPE
Is there anything or anyone you’re losing faith in?
YEH
Is there a specific moment you can replay in your mind perfectly?
A FEW
If you died today, would you be happy with your life?
SOMEWHAT
Don’t tell me lies - is the last person you texted attractive?
YEP HE IS
When was the last time you ate Taco Bell?
NEVER
What did you do last weekend?
TOOK CHURCH PRAISE GROUP TO DINNER AND TO SEE ICE HOCKEY, THEN SPENT SUNDAY WITH MY MAN
Do you still talk to the last person you kissed?
YES EVERYDAY
What is your hair looking like right now?
HENNAED RED AND CURLY
Give me some lyrics of the song you’re listening to.
STILL, MY SOUL BE STILL, AND DO NOT FEAR, THE WINDS OF CHANGE MAY RAGE TOMORROW
Have you ever regretted kissing someone?
YES
What woke you up this morning?
MY ALARM
Are you too hot, too cold, or just right at the moment?
Just right
Would you rather it be sunny or rainy?
Sunny
Who’s the last person you hugged, not including family?
FIANCE
Would it suck to have to share a bed every night?
NOPE
When was the last time you saw your best friends?
YESTERDAY

Wednesday, 18 September 2013

Superdrug Haul!!


What qualifies as a Haul?? 
Can anyone tell me? Is there a set rule? Because in my mind its when I buy more than I'd intended to buy... so I'm sticking to that rule and just thought I'd blog about my latest 'Haul'

There is a grand total of 6 items in my haul... shocking right? but they are items that I sadly get excited about... so I thought I'd share them with you.

Superdrug has increasingly become my go to store for Makeup, and toiletries and since they updated our local store and brought in the MUA makeup range I've visited frequently, unfortunately they've been slow in stocking up. Anyway the whole haul thing started when I was out doing some work messages and realised I'd forgotten my eyeliner, I'd used it the other day and left it on the window sill and as I'm working late tonight for an event, I decided I'd pop-in and buy another one as they're only £1 and I really like them.  So I went in, and wayhey they'd stocked up the MUA stand somewhat.

What did I buy?

MUA Pro-Base Conceal & Brighten Kit in shade Natural - Medium Rose £2.50


I have hmmmed and haaaed over buying this product for some time, and decided to hold off until my current products I was using were done. I currently and for a long time have used Natural Collections green tinted pigment concealer and their fair tinted concealer for blemishes, dark circles and the like, but I've heard good things about this product so promised myself I'd try it (and review it)... so they finally had the closest shade to my skin tone available and my other stick concealer's are pretty much done. £2.50 is a great price for this product which has a highlighter and two diff shades of concealer which you can mix or use separately to whatever degree you feel necessary. I like that its flat packaging which is space saving for my makeup bag, so I'll give it a go, and review it in the near future.

MUA  'Out There' Plumping Lip Gloss in shade Buff


I've said in previous makeup reviews that I don't wear lipstick really, I have thin lips and i've never grasped the whole bright lipstick trend, I just don't feel it looks right on me... so where lip products are concerned, I love neutral colours that give off high shine as opposed to bright noticeable colours. That's not to say I don't like bright lipsticks, I just don't feel I personally can pull them off! anyhooooo... I usually would use a little lip tint within my makeup palate and finish it off with a lip gloss or with some lip balm; but I'm always intrigued by the promise of plumping up my lips and in the past have liked glosses that also add a little plump (even if its a placebo effect kind of thing as opposed to actual fact). MUA had this product sitting out for suckers like me to see, and i really liked this shade which is called Buff. it had a nice neutral tone but one that is noticeable, below is a pic of it on the wand, and also then a pic of it on my lips


Its gorgeous on, I feel. It has a high shine factor, it evened out the tone of my lips and my top lip is noticeably smaller but it has made it seem larger, it also has the lovely tingly feel I like from plumping glosses. I felt it was a bargain at £2

Garnier Pure Active Fruit Energy Daily Energising wash


I went in to get a new bottle of the Garnier Pure Active Make-up remover purifying gel 2 in 1 I had previously used...(you can read the review of it HERE) but was pretty excited to see a further range of products and a 2 for £5 offer. face washes are something I love trying, as I mentioned in the past review. I like ones that can take off eye makeup, but most products advise you to avoid the eye area, that being said I'll give most a go. all of the Garnier washes seem to have Salicylic acid in them which is great for acne prone skin, I also have oily skin, so I look for products that work for that. I used to use a scrub at night and a wash in the morning and with this deal, decided to go back to that routine, as I felt it gave me better cleansing than just using the garnier gel wash twice a day. this product I chose because I've used products with extracts of Grapefruit and pomegranate and been impressed with them. also, I admit, the colour was asthetially pleasing to me also. It also promises a fruity cleansing zing during cleansing, which is something I love, and is designed fro my skin type of oily to combi skin so once again I shall review in due course.

Garnier Pure Active Intensive Charcoal Scrub


As mentioned above I do like using scrubs, particularly in the evening. and I have read of the benefits of charcoal so I thought I'd give this one a bash as it was in the 2 for £5 deal (I saved £4.98 buying the two products) This product is for oily to spot prone skin and is gentle enough to use daily apparently.  as well as having 2% Salicylic acid it also has the ultra absorbent charcoal which acts like a dirt magnet helping to eliminate impurities and excess sebum... hmmm the marketing people must love folks like me who'd buy anything. we'll see.. again I'll review this in about a month or so.


Superdrug Facial Cleansing Wipes (Chamomile & fragrance free)

Because I bought two face products that don't specifically have eye makeup removal properties, I felt I should start removing my eye makeup properly. I do wear mascara and eyeliner a fair wee bit, and just would have scrubbed it off with whatever face product I used (the last one was for eye makeup) but before that it wasn't and even so, there'd be residue left, or I'd have sore sensitive eyes. So I decided to buy some cleansing wipes solely to remove eye makeup. the own brand chamomile appealed to me, so I lifted them  and on way to the till a specials basket had all the different types of their own brand wipes sitting with a 2 for £1.49 deal, so I lifted a fragrance free set also. I'll review these also in a week or so. i plan to mainly use them for eye makeup removal



So that's my Haul.

Not huge I grant you, but more than I'd planned to buy... and ironically I never even bought the eyeliner I'd intended to purchase in the first place!


have you used, reviewed, liked or disliked any of the above products, let me know in the comments below!

byeeee
N










                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  

Monday, 16 September 2013

Our Story... TAG



So this tag is to tell a story of you and a boyfriend, girlfriend, best friend, pet or anyone else you can think of! I'd like to know how you met, their 3 top likes, 3 top dislikes and your favourite thing about that person, AND your lease favourite thing about them

So here is mine.

This is Richard... also known to me as Ichie, pet, babe and loads of other silly names





Richard and I worked together in a local cinema about 9 years ago, without really knowing each other that well as he's super quiet... and i'm well... not. Ironically it wasn't until I got a full time job somewhere else that we actually sort of kept in touch and started hanging out when we'd spare time. this gradually just kind of became a relationship as we realised we loved being together and as more than friends. 

I'm not once of these people that has a set date for the day we became an item, All I know is we saw Muse in November 2004 for my birthday and at the end of it I realised that was probably our first real date!

So we've been together 8 years now, know pretty much everything about each other, he's my best friend and vice versa, and i'm very lucky to have him in my life, and this August he asked me to marry him; cue lots of excitement as we start looking for homes! Yay

Richard loves healthy foods like Salads and fish, he buys pretty much any martial art film he can... especially if Donnie Yen is in it and he loves drinking Tea
He hates his job, having the cold, and wearing jeans... even though he looks soooo good in them!!

My favourite thing about Richard is his caring nature. He doesn't lick up to people or pretend not to like them if he doesn't but he is a genuinely caring person who treats me like a princess, and looks out for those he cares about.


My least favourite thing about him is hes a total hypochondriach, and as someone who was a huge one of these when I was younger I can categorically say... he is ten times worse. for example, we both have the cold... but his is flu!, like real bad flu (it's not!)


so... TAG you're it! 

I want to hear all your stories, no matter how slushy/weird or long. Link me back so I know you have done one and I shall be sure to read.

I tag everyone that is reading this right now. That means YOU! :)





I got this Tag Idea from sprinkle of glitters blog.. so here is a link to her version

sprinkleofglitter's TAG

Sickypoos

So I had all these great things I wanted to blog about since last week... I had the whole OOTD's planned and other things I wanted to do but worst luck... I took the cold... and feel like doing nothing.. yet I am so busy in the evenings with other stuff... so I've had no time or energy to do any blogging at all.

I had a bit of a blip also where the engagement ring is concerned... we went to collect it from being resized on Saturday.

The sales guy basically chucked it on my finger and bolted on his break, with no interest in my impression of the ring, he never even gave me the box so I headed home with the ring just happy to have it back after  3 weeks but once I got home and really looked at it, I started to notice imperfections in it, since before it was sent. 

You can read more about my engagement and see pics of the ring before it was sent to be resized by clicking HERE

Anyway... when I got the ring home, and looked at it properly, it was definitely damaged, in the sense that it looked squashed and the black treated diamonds had lost colouring and there was patchy black and white gold. I was not happy and so took it back yesterday. I avoided the salesman who'd thrown it at me, and actually got a really lovely girl who immediately was astounded at the condition of the ring and when she compared it with an original in store she was disgusted. she immediately pushed the ring through as a return job to be corrected, and also to be done as a matter of urgency due to the that fact I waited 3 weeks for the hack job they sent me. she couldn't apologise enough and was really nice and understanding. hopefully i'll get it back on Friday this week, and if its not looking alot better i'll be requesting a refund.

anyways... so yes I've been engaged about 4 weeks, and have worn my ring twice.. I really hope that this week gets it sorted.

so thats my whiny blog done, the next blog won't be as whiny I hope!!





Wednesday, 11 September 2013

OOTD - September 10th 2013

Yesterday was another slightly more formal work day (whereas today is casual (pictures to be uploaded later for todays OOTD)

so enjoy.. also just to let y'all know I realised i'd switched comments off on the posts, that has been rectified so please do link your own OOTD or blog posts in the comments section below :)

N

Here i'm wearing a pair of Topshops tailored wide leg black trousers. These cost me about £50 which is usually more than I'd ever spend on work trousers however I've had them for about 3 years and they're still in brill condition. They have a lovely wide legged hem which flatters my shape and they can be dressed up for evenings out, work etc

I've added a lovely little cream and black dotty blouse. I purchased this from H & M in the spring sale for about £7 and never wore it much but its a nice shape, and I love that it has no collar and the sleeves are little split sleeves as the next picture will show


I teamed this with my black bow pumps from Primark (cost about £12) which are super comfy



and that's my very simple but slightly more work appropriate OOTD

N xx


Monday, 9 September 2013

ARGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHH this is a venty post!... don't read if you're looking for upbeat stuff!

My head is fried.

I've been engaged 3 weeks, I don't even have my ring back yet from it getting re-sized and already I feel a huge amount of pressure on me from OTHER People.

If one more person asks me have I a date set... and follows the question with any fo the below phrases or variations of... I may just jump off a bridge

Statements: Have you the date set...


  1. because I need a day out
  2. when are you giving us a day out
  3. i'm not getting any younger 
  4. Do I need to buy a hat?
here's my issues

  1. I have a huge family circle... its ridiculous... both my parents are from large families and they all just expect an invite regardless
  2. Half of them I only ever see at weddings or funerals.. for that reason alone I refuse to invite people to my wedding when i'll never see them again for a long time, I barely speak to them and don't really have an interest in having them there
  3. I want my day to be with the people i love and care about most... but i know that it will be difficult because.. my mother will feel it necessary to pander to the familes needs and i'll feel guilt... because families are great at that
  4. i dont have the money to fund £40-£50 a head for a huge amount of people, and I will not be traking money from my parents just to cover people coming that I don't want there in the first place
I've been doing some looking, at venues (we'd love to get married abroad or in Scotland) and we've had minor disagreements about the amount of poeple, hes quite happy to invite only immediate family, but I just don't know where to begin, and then that starts rows about the fact we're only just engaged.

My head feels like its going to explode... I can see this all being one big stressful time, I mean it'll be at least 2 years before we get married, but noone else can just let me enjoy this engagement period at all... and its starting to really freak me out.

I had a huge argument with my mum last night, shes said her and dad want to pay for some of the wedding, my fiance doesn't want that and I don't really either for several reasons

  1. they're pensioner with not much money, and i don't feel they should have to pay for it, despite what older generations feel
  2. they feel they get an input into the actual wedding and guest list
anyway the argument came up after I said I didn't want a big wedding and it was how to be polite and diplomatic in telling people so, and she blurted out... "you either invite all or none that's how its done"
I said if you think you get a say you can think again to which she replied, its the brides parents who make the guest list anyway... again I responded with... "no I will not be paying X pounds a head for people I never see and am unlikely to see after it" and again she just said, you invite all or none, and if that's the case don't bother inviting me.. and with that,... she made it her wedding!!

I was so shocked I couldn't speak! and i barely slept last night and today I'm just a mixture of furious and upset.

My fiance and I are sorting out a home first and I'm even amazed she is ok with that, but i'm holding onto the hope that by the time we get settled into our own place she'll understand that she can't bulldoze the wedding.

guys I need advice, any words or encouragement or support would be so welcome right now... what should I say.. how do I get control of my own life back. its ridiculous, I'm coming 30 and still can't win these battles. whats worse is my Fiance is right.. he knew this would happen!!


:o( N

Friday, 6 September 2013

Outfit Of The Day - September 6th, 2013

I've decided to do a bit of an OOTD when the notion takes me, to show the diverse range of stuff I wear during the week dependent on work duties etc.... Purely because I have some lovely finds recently and today I wore one for the first time and really loved it, I also love seeing what other people wear, so please link in the comments section any of your own OOTD Posts and I'd love to hear any comments you may have about my own style (of sorts)

I do have a very definite style. when I'm having formal work days I love to wear dresses, I am not a frilly type of girl, i don;t wear flouncy things really as they just don't feel like me. when its a day of just sitting at my desk I'm most comfy in flats and trainers but i do find that dressing up be it with a skirt or dress does improve my mood sometimes.

Today I was giving a presentation on behalf of my office at a forum meeting.. so here's today's OOTD, which called for a bit more formality.

 

Today I'm wearing a gorgeous grey button down shift dress. this dress is originally from H & M however i was fortunate enough to find it with its original tags still on it in a local charity shop.
It has roll up sleeves, an open collar and a lovely waist band which cinches in and accents my small waist but then enough room for my larger hips. its very comfy and looks formal, also it has pockets as you can see, which I love!

Also wearing black tights from Primark (60 denier I think)


My shoes are Victorian style lace up courts in grey that I got from New Look about 4 years ago. I don't wear them too often so their still in great condition. i think they were about £20 when I purchased them.


My watch is a pink strapped FCUK watch that I bought on offer in an Avon book for about £10 when I spent a certain amount on other products

My bracelet is a beaded bracelet that my fiance bought me in Croatia when we were on holiday which costs about 5 Euros


And finally my glasses are thick purple frames purchased from Glasses direct.com. I love them, and wear them more than the others i purchased. they cost me £29! (including prescription lenses)


so there you go folks, my first ever OOTD

Hope you enjoyed it

N